Awards and Fellows

The IEEE Circuits and Systems Society’s annual awards program recognizes member achievement in education, industry, technological innovation and service.


The purpose of the annual IEEE Circuits & Systems Society Awards is to illuminate the accomplishments of CAS Society members and celebrate their dedication and contributions both within the field and to the CAS Society. Award recipients are nominated by their CASS peers in order to honor the service and contributions that further strengthen the CAS Society.

Take a moment to review the Society & Achievement Awards and Outstanding Paper Awards that are presented by the CAS Society.

Nominations for the 2016 CAS Awards are closed. 2017 nominations will be announced here later this year. Note: Self-nominations are not allowed. Previous award recipients are listed under the respective categories below.

Any questions should be sent to


IEEE Technical Field Awards

Gustav Robert Kirchhoff Award
IEEE Biomedical Engineering Award
IEEE Fourier Award for Signal Processing

Society & Achievement Awards

Mac Van Valkenburg Award
Charles A. Desoer Technical Achievement Award
John Choma Education Award
Vitold Belevitch Circuits and Systems Award
Industrial Pioneer Award
Meritorious Service Award

Outstanding Paper Awards

Guillemin-Cauer Best Paper Award
Darlington Best Paper Award
Biomedical Circuits and Systems Best Paper Award
Circuits and Systems for Video Technology Best Paper Award
Very Large Scale Integration Systems Best Paper Award
Outstanding Young Author Award
IEEE Circuits and Systems Society ISCAS Student Best Paper Award

Student Awards

Pre-Doctoral Scholarship

Student Travel Awards

Chapter Awards

Chapter of the Year Award
Regions 1-7 Chapter of the Year Award
Regions 8 Chapter of the Year Award
Region 9 Chapter of the Year Award
Region 10 Chapter of the Year Award


2015 IEEE CASS Fellows
2014 IEEE CASS Fellows
2013 IEEE CASS Fellows
2012 IEEE CASS Fellows
2011 IEEE CASS Fellows
2010 IEEE CASS Fellows
2009 IEEE CASS Fellows
2008 IEEE CASS Fellows
2007 IEEE CASS Fellows
2006 IEEE CASS Fellows
2005 IEEE CASS Fellows
2004 IEEE CASS Fellows