1996 was another successful year for the Technical Committee on Nonlinear Circuits and Systems, with support for nonlinear activities at eight major conferences and workshops, and the creation of our homepage.

This year, Michael Peter Kennedy and Maciej Ogorzalek have organised a special session on “Applications of Chaos in Communications” (SS3/Track 2) at ISCAS’97 9–12 June, 1997. Flights to Hong Kong in June are being snapped up, so book your seat now.

Building on the success of last year’s workshop in Seville, the fifth international specialist workshop on Nonlinear Dynamics of Electronic Systems (NDES’97) will take place in Moscow, Russia, on 26–27 June, 1997. For the past two years, this exciting meeting of mathematicians and engineers from eastern and western Europe, the US and Japan, has been supported by the TCNCAS.

There will be two special sessions devoted to nonlinear dynamics at ECCTD’97, which will take place in Budapest, Hungary, from 30 August to 3 September, 1997: “Nonlinear analyst’s tools for practical circuits and systems,” and “Spread spectrum communications and chaos.”

The 1997 International Symposium on Nonlinear Theory and its Applications (NOLTA’97) will be held in the Hilton Hawaiian Village, Hawaii, from 29 November through 3 December, 1997. The deadline for submission of abstracts is 19 July, 1997.

Two special issues of the IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems are also in the pipeline. There has been an overwhelming response to the Call for Papers for the special issue of Part I on “Chaos Synchronization, Control, and Applications”. A Call for Papers has been issued for a special issue of Part II on “Advances in Nonlinear Electronic Circuits.” Manuscripts should be sent to either of the Guest Editors by 31 July, 1997.

For further information about the activities of the TCNCAS and conferences which it supports, consult the following Web sites:

Special thanks to our Vice-Chairman, Ljiljana Trajkovic, who created the TCNCAS website during her term of office as Secretary of the Committee.

Michael Peter Kennedy