2019/2021 Officers


Dr. Alon Ascoli

Alon Ascoli (IEEE Member) received a Ph.D. Degree in Electronic Engineering from University College Dublin in 2006. He is a wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter in the Faculty of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Technische Universität Dresden, and in the Department of Microelectronics, Brno University of Technology. His research interests lie in the area of nonlinear circuits and systems, and, in particular, on Memristors and Memristive Cellular Nonlinear Networks. In 2017 he was conferred the habilitation title as Associate Professor in Electrical Circuit
Theory from the Italian Ministry of Education. In 2007 he was honored with the IJCTA Best Paper Award for the manuscript “Modelling the dynamics of log-domain circuits”. He was Technical Program Chair and Special Session Chair at the 15th Int. Conf. on Cellular Nanoscale Networks and their Applications, 23-25 August 2016, Dresden, Germany. He is in the Scientific Advisory Board of the Chua Memristor Center since its inauguration in August 2016. He is President of the Cellular Nanoscale Networks and Array Computing Technical Committee (CNNAC-TC) since May 2019. He was Technical Program Chair of the International Conference on Memristive Materials, Devices, and Systems (MEMRISYS), 8-11 July, 2019, Dresden, Germany. He was a Visiting Researcher in the lab of Prof. Steve Kang at the University of California Santa Cruz (UCSC) from the 9th to the 27th of September 2019. In Sept. 2020 he was awarded the Best Paper Award in Electronics at the International Conference on Modern Circuits and Systems Technologies (MOCAST). He is a member of the IEEE Nanoelectronics and Gigascale Systems Technical Committee (Nano-Giga TC) since October 2020. He will be the Chair of the 7th Memristor and Memristive Symposium (Catania, Italy, 29th of September 2021).

Ascoli's page at Google Scholar


Past Chair

Prof. Fernando Corinto

Fernando Corinto (M’03–SM’10) received the Masters' Degree in Electronic Engineering and the Ph.D. degree in Electronics and Communications Engineering from the Politecnico di Torino, in 2001 and 2005 respectively. He also received the European Doctorate from the Politecnico di Torino, in 2005. F. Corinto was awarded a Marie Curie Fellowship in 2004.
He is currently Associate Professor of Circuit Theory with the Department of Electronics and Telecommunications, Politecnico di Torino. His research activities are mainly on nonlinear circuits and systems, locally coupled nonlinear/nanoscale networks and memristor nanotechnology.
Prof. Corinto is co-author of 6 book chapters and more than 130 international journal and conference papers. Since 2010, he is Senior Member of the IEEE. He is also the Chair of the IEEE CAS Technical Committee on “Cellular Nanoscale Networks and Array Computing” and Member of the IEEE CAS TC “Nonlinear Circuits and Systems”. Prof. Corinto serves as Vice-Chair of the IEEE North Italy CAS Chapter. Prof. Corinto has been Associated Editor of the IEEE Trans. on Circuits and Systems - I for 2014-2015. He is also in the Editorial Board and Review Editor of the International Journal of Circuit Theory and Applications since January 2015. Prof. Corinto is Vice Chair of the COST Action “Memristors - Devices, Models, Circuits, Systems and Applications (MemoCiS)”. Prof. Corinto has been DRESDEN Senior Fellows at the Technische Universität Dresden in 2013 and 2017. Prof. Corinto has been August- Wilhelm Scheer visiting professor at Technische Universität München in 2016 and he is also member of the Institute for Advanced Study -Technische Universität München.

Corinto's page at Google Scholar



Dr. András Horvath

András Horvath is an Associate Professor at the Faculty of Information Technology and Bionics at Peter Pazmany Catholic University. His research is mostly focused on computer vision and artificial intelligence, especially on the efficient implementation of modern machine learning algorithms with emerging devices. He took part in the DARPA-UPSIDE (Unconventional Processing of Signals for Intelligent Data Exploitation) project between 2012 and 2018, which aimed the development of an  object recognition pipeline with oscillatory based computing, implemented on emerging devices (e.g.: spin-torque and resonant body oscillators).
He is author or co-author of more than 40 publications which appeared in various international journals.  He is an active Reviewer for various peer reviewed journal papers. (e.g.: IEEE Transaction on Signal Processing , IEEE Transactions on Circuits and System, etc.). He is a member of the IEEE Circuits and System Society and the IEEE Computational Intelligence Society.



Webmaster: Alon Ascoli – alon.ascoli@tu-dresden.de