Minutes of the Neural Systems and Applications Technical Committee (NSA TC)

2020 Annual Meeting

Location: Virtual Zoom Meeting.

Date: Friday, 16 October 2020 Time: 9:00 to 10:00 EDT

1 Attendees

1. Yoko Uwate (Chair) uwate@tokushima-u.ac.jp 2. Arindam Basu arindam.basu@ntu.edu.sg 3. Xuan 'Silvia' Zhang xuan.zhang@wustl.edu Melika Payvand melika@ini.uzh.ch Shih-Chii Liu shih@ini.phys.ethz.ch Tobi Delbruck tobi@ini.uzh.ch 6. 7. Jason Eshraghian jeshraghian@gmail.com 8. Fernando Perez-Pena fernandoperez.pena@uca.es 9. Giacomo Indiveri giacomo@ini.ethz.ch 10. Mostafa Rahimi Azghadi mostafa.rahimi@gmail.com Maysam Ghovanloo mghovan@ieee.org 12. Takao Marukame takao.marukame@toshiba.co.jp 17. Alejandro Linares Barranco alinares@cs.es 14. Jim Harkin ig.harkin@ulster.ac.uk 15. Wei Xing Zheng w.zheng@westernsydney.edu.au 16. Juan P. Dominguez-Morales[⋄] Di He[⋄] 17. dihe@sjtu.edu.cn 18. Antonio Rios-Navarro[⋄] arios@us.es

2 Opening, approval of the meeting agenda and the 2019 Neural Systems and Applications (NSA) meeting minutes

The Chair, Yoko Uwate, welcomed the Neural Systems and Applications Technical Committee (NSA TC) members and opened the meeting. She also introduced the meeting agenda and the NSA TC unanimously approved the proposed agenda.

The 2019 NSA meeting minutes were shared with the attendees by means of the committee's web page and email before the meeting. No objections were received. Furthermore, during meeting, the Chair asked the Technical Committee (TC) member to vote the approval of the 2019 meeting minutes, which were approved unanimously.

3 NSA highlights

The paper statistics were presented by the Chair. The NSA tracks received a total of 138 submissions (9.5% increase from last year). The total number of accepted papers for the NSA track was 77, giving an acceptance rate of 55.80%. 30 out of the 77 accepted papers were presented in an oral session

[♦] Candidate new members

while 47 papers were presented in a poster session and 2 papers were related to live demonstrations. Our track was represented this year with 7 oral sessions and 6 poster session.

4 Best paper award

The Chair, Yoko Uwate, presented the procedure for selecting the best paper and honorary mention awards. The 10 papers with the best score in the original first-round review process were selected for a second-round re-score conducted by three volunteer members of the TC. There was a tie among the 2nd and the 3rd place papers and a fourth volunteer's score is used to resolve the tie. The following papers were selected according to the above process:

Best paper: "A 28-nm Convolutional Neuromorphic Processor Enabling Online Learning with Spike-Based Retinas" Charlotte Frenkel, Jean-Didier Legat, David Bol

Honorable mention: "A 54.7 fps 3D Point Cloud Semantic Segmentation Processor with Sparse Grouping Based Dilated Graph Convolutional Network for Mobile Devices" Youngwoo Kim, Donghyeon Han, Changhyeon Kim, Hoi-Jun Yoo

The whole process was coordinated by Chair-elect Arindam Basu.

5 TC activities

The Chair, Yoko, suggested that the activities compiled from the annual report be put on the TC website to show the wide range of activities being done by our members. She also encouraged members to make more contributions by sharing their activities to be compiled into the report. The Chair asked for volunteers for the Distinguished Lecturer program and for ISCAS 2021 Track Chairs.

Yoko presented an update from the recently-passed AICAS 2020 conference, which has been converted to be held virtually during August 31 to September 4, 2020. Tobi Delbruck, the Program Co-Chairs of AICAS 2020, gave a brief report back from the conference, commending the well-received virtual format.

6 New members

- 1. Juan P. Dominguez-Morales (nominated by Alejandro Linares Barranco)
- 2. Antonio Rios-Navarro (nominated by Alejandro Linares Barranco)
- 3. Di He (nominated by Yoko Uwate)

After the candidates introduced themselves, they were asked to enter into the virtual breakout room and the chair called for any comments on the candidates. After a short discussion a vote was held for the NSA membership candidates listed above. All applicants were unanimously accepted as members of the Neural Systems Applications and Technologies Technical Committee (NSAT TC).

7 Session Chairs for ISCAS 2021

Jason Eshraghian, Track Co-Chair of ISCAS 2021, mentioned the need to solicit session chairs for ISCAS 2021. It was decided that this will be done through the NSATC mailing list after the meeting.

8 Officers for 2020-2021

The list of officers for the next year is same as elected last year. The team is as follows:

Past-Chair Elisabetta Chicca

Past-Chair Chiara Bartolozzi

Chair Yoko Uwate

Chair-Elect Arindam Basu

Secretary Xuan 'Silvia' Zhang

Secretary-Elect Melika Payvand

9 End of meeting

No further discussion was needed and the meeting was adjourned.