IEEE CAS Society CASCOM TC Annual Meeting 2023 Agenda and Minutes of the Meeting – Monterey, USA

Date: May 22, 2023

Time: 13:30-14:30 (Pacific Time)

Place: Monterey Conference Center, Monterey, CA, USA

Meeting Agenda

- 1. Opening of meeting
- 2. Introduction of CASCOM TC officers and members in attendance
- 3. Approval of the 2023 CASCOM TC meeting agenda
- 4. Approval of the 2022 CASCOM TC meeting minutes
- 5. Report of Annual 2023 CASCOM TC Report
- 6. CASCOM TC member activities
- 7. Update on ISCAS 2023
- 8. CASCOM TC 5-year review
- 9. CASS Initiatives
- 10. Updates on ISCAS 2024
- 11. Election/Approval of new CASCOM TC members
- 12. Any other business
- 13. Adjourn

Minutes of the 2023 Meeting

The list of attendees (in-person) is provided in Appendix A. The attendance was 24 members (8 members: in-person, 16 members: on-line).

1. Opening of meeting

- TC Chair Máire O'Neill, called the meeting to order at approx. 1:30 PM

2. Introduction of CASCOM TC officers and members

- Each officer and member were introduced, and a meeting attendance sheet used to record attendance. Current officers Máire O'Neill and Jongsun Park attended the meeting.

3. Approval of the 2023 CASCOM TC meeting agenda

- The agenda was presented, and an overview given. A motion to approve was seconded and approved by the members.

4. Approval of the 2022 CASCOM TC meeting minutes

- ISCAS 2022 meeting minutes and annual reports will be posted on the TC website.

5. Discussion of Annual 2023 CASCOM TC Report

- CASCOM now has 94 TC members and several for consideration today.
- Of the 94 CASCOM TC members, 57 members were ISCAS2023 RCMs.
- In ISCAS2023, CASCOM track (Track 3) received 66 papers in 11 sub-tracks.
 - 66 papers submitted; 30 papers included in program (45.5% acceptance rate)
 - 20 papers in 4 lecture sessions and 10 papers in 2 poster sessions

6. CASCOM TC Members Activities in CAS Society

- VP Technical Activities: Xinmiao Zhang
- CASS Board of Governors: Hanho Lee
- CASS President-Elect: Myunghoon Sunwoo
- CASS Distinguished Lectures: 2022-2023: Chuan Zhang

7. Update on ISCAS 2023

- Three TC members served as CASCOM track co-chairs: Máire O'Neill, Chuan Zhang and Jongsun Park.
- 9 TC members are scheduled to serve as CASCOM track session chairs.
- 57 TC members served as 2023 CASCOM track review committee members (RCMs)

8. CASCOM TC-5year Review

- 20 May 2023: deadline for submission of the completed review questionnaire
- Future Plans: Increasing the diversities of membership is important
 - Among 94 TC members, only 9 members from industry and only 9% of female members
 - Need to increase the members from industry and female members

9. CASS Initiatives

- IEEE standards activities sub-division (SASD)
- Satellite workshops co-located with CASS Flagship conferences
- Cross-society sessions at ISCAS
- CASS goes to universities

10. Updates on ISCAS 2024

- will be held in Singapore in May 2024 (in-person conference)
- will start to request TC members to join as RCMs in Oct. 2023

11. Election/Approval of new CASCOM TC members

Nominations were received for 6 candidates for new membership (One member could not attend and therefore were not included in the vote). Bios were circulated and each spoke briefly.

- Prof. Tuy Nguyen, Northern Arizona University, US
- Prof. Zhao Zhang, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
- Prof. Xialong Liu, Southern University of Science and Technology, China
- Prof. Farhad Merchant, University of Newcastle
- Prof. Yeong-Luh Ueng, National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan
- Prof. Harikrishnan Ramiah, University of Malaya, Malaysia

Among the candidates, one (Prof. Tuy Nguyen) attended the meeting in-person. 4 other candidates attended on-line. According to bylaws, new members should attend TC meeting in-person, but bylaws were made before COVID. For this year, all the candidates that attended (including on-line attendants) the CASCOM meeting were selected as new members of the TC.

New members will be added to the CASCOM member webpage listing and the CASCOM email alias. Congratulations to all the new members!

12. Any other business

- CASCOM TC homepage: https://ieee-cas.org/technical-committee/circuits-and-systems-communications-cascom
- Encourage member nominations for distinguished lecturer/visitor program
- Encourage members to propose special sessions at ISCAS and special issues in CASS journals in emerging areas of research relevant to the TC
- Encourage members to organize and submit papers to SiPs next year.

13. Meeting adjourned

Meeting adjourned at approx. 2:25 PM

TC Chair Máire O'Neill thanked all attendees and closed the meeting.

Prepared by TC Secretary: Jongsun Park

Appendix A

24 attendees (8 in-person attendees and 16 on-line attendees)

Members:

Máire O'Neill <u>m.oneill@ecit.qub.ac.uk</u> (Chair)

Chuan Zhang <u>chzhang@seu.edu.cn</u> (Chair-Elect) – attended on-line

Jongsun Park <u>jongsun@korea.ac.kr</u> (Secretary)

List of in-person attendees:

Máire O'Neill (Queen's University Belfast) m.oneill@ecit.qub.ac.uk

Jongsun Park (Korea University) jongsun@korea.ac.kr

Hanho Lee (Inha University) hhlee@inha.ac.kr

Jiafeng Xie (Villanova University) jiafeng.xie@villanova.edu

Tuy Nguyen (Northen Arizona University) tuy.nguyen@nau.edu

Kyung-Ki Kim (Daegu University) kkkim@daegu.ac.kr

Myunghoon Sunwoo (Ajou University) sunwoo@ajou.ac.kr

Xinmiao Zhang (Ohio State University) zhang.8952@osu.edu