# IEEE CAS Society CASCOM TC Annual Meeting 2021 Agenda and Minutes of the Meeting - Daegu, South Korea

Date: May 24, 2021 Time: 12:00-13:00 Place: Virtual

## **Meeting Agenda**

- 1. Opening of meeting
- 2. Introduction of CASCOM TC officers and members
- 3. Approval of the 2021 CASCOM TC meeting agenda.
- 4. Approval of the 2020 CASCOM TC meeting minutes.
- 5. Report of Annual TC Report: accomplished technical activities, etc.
- 6. CASCOM TC member activities
- 7. Update on ISCAS 2022
- 8. Election/Approval of New CASCOM TC members
- 9. Other business
- 10. Meeting adjourned.

# Minutes of the 2021 Meeting

The list of attendees is provided in Appendix A. The attendance was 22 members, candidates, and guests.

#### 1. Opening of meeting

- TC Chair Hanho Lee called the meeting to order at about 12:00 pm

#### 2. Introduction of CASCOM TC officers and members

- CASCOM TC officers and members were introduced.

## 3. Approval of the 2021 CASCOM TC meeting agenda.

- The agenda was presented and an overview given. A motion to approve was seconded and approved by the members.

## 4. Approval of the 2020 CASCOM TC meeting minutes.

- The minutes of the 2020 meeting were read. There was no discussion, a motion to approve was made, seconded, and approved by the members.

#### 5. Report of Annual 2021 CASCOM TC Report

- The Report was prepared by the secretary based on information collected from the members over the preceding few weeks. The report was approved and will be posted on the CASCOM TC web site.
- Hanho Lee provided statistics about ISCAS 2021.
- The CASCOM track (Track 3) received 88 papers in 12 sub-tracks for the 2021 meeting.

# Track List for ISCAS2018

- 3.1 Wireline Communications
- 3.2 Wireless Communications
- 3.3 Optical Communications
- 3.4 Millimeter Wave and Broadband Communication Systems
- 3.5 MIMO & Massive MIMO
- 3.6 Machine Learning for Communications Systems and IoT
- 3.7 Software Defined and Cognitive Radio Systems
- 3.8 Error Correcting Codes
- 3.9 Cryptography and Hardware Security
- 3.10 IoT Systems and Sensor Networks
- 3.11 Other Areas in Communications Circuits and Systems
- CASCOM now has 89 TC members and several for consideration today.
- Of the 89 CASCOM TC members, 62 members were ISCAS2021 RCMs.
  - only 29 reports from 89 members submitted
- The 2021 CASCOM track (Track 3) received 88 papers in 11 sub-tracks.
  - 88 papers submitted; 40 papers included in program (45.5% acceptance rate)
  - 21 papers in 5 lecture sessions and 19 papers in 3 poster sessions

- Three TC members served as CASCOM track co-chairs: Hanho Lee, Máire O'Neill, Chuan Zhang
- 62 TC members served as 2021 CASCOM track Review Committee Members

## 6. CASCOM TC Member Activities

- Three Members of CASS Board of Governors:
  - Xinmiao Zhang; Hanho Lee; An-Yeu (Andy) Wu
    - Distinguished Lecturer / Visitor Program: Gerald Sobelman
- CAS Journal Editors
  - Chuan Zhang, Christoph Studer; Xinmiao Zhang, Hanho Lee, Alexander Korotkov, Vyasa Sai, Jiafeng xie, (Nick) Yong Chen, W. Liu, V. Chen, Jongsun Park

## 7. Update on ISCAS 2022

- will be held on Austin, Texas, USA at May. 2022. (iscas2022.org)
  Virtual or Hybrid, or offline
- Will start the request to TC members for Review Committee Members (RCM) at Oct.
  - TC members can join as RCM
  - RCM assigns papers to reviewers
  - Usually busy November to January on paper review, selection, sessions, and chairs.

## 8. Election/Approval of new CASCOM TC members

Nominations were received for one candidates for new membership:

- Candidate, Affiliation; Nominator:
- Prof. Alexios Balatsoukas-Stimming, Eindhoven University of Technology;

Those new member candidates that attended the TC meeting were then introduced and presented their background. Their CVs had been presented to the members in an email before the TC meeting. The members discussed the qualifications of the candidates and voted. One candidate was selected as new members of the TC: Alexios Balatsoukas-Stimming,

Congratulations to the new members.

#### 9. Other business.

- Encourage member nominations for opening on Board of Governors
- Encourage member nominations for Distinguished Lecturer / Visitor Program

## 10. Meeting adjourned.

Meeting adjourned at 13:00

TC Chair Hanho Lee thanked all attendees and closed the meeting. Date: 10 August 2021

Prepared by outgoing TC Chair Hanho Lee and TC Secretary Chuan Zhang

# Appendix A

#### List of attendees in Virtual:

21 attendees, including candidates attending.

Hanho Lee (한호) Sri Navaneeth Easwaran Gerald Sobelman Jienan Chen (陈杰男) Weiqiang Liu Dur E Shahwar Kundi Xiangyu Meng Junghwan Han Vanessa Chen Jiafeng Xie (Jiafeng Harvest Xie) Yuan-Hao Huang Pei-Yun Tsai Nam Ling Alexios Balatsoukas Stimming Chuan Zhang Youngjoo Lee Xinmiao Zhang Jaeha Kung Hoyoung Yoo Kyunaki Kim