IEEE CAS is pleased to congratulate the following recipients of the 2017 IEEE Circuits and Systems Society Awards. The Society is especially proud and happy to honor their outstanding accomplishments and we look forward their continuous involvement and close contact with CAS.

See award winners and fellows from previous years 

View photos from the 2017 CASS Awards Ceremony at ISCAS 2017

Mac Van Valkenburg Award
Keshab K. Parhi
For pioneering contributions to VLSI digital signal processing architectures, design methodologies, and their applications to wired and wireless communications, and service to IEEE Circuits and Systems Society.

Charles A. Desoer Technical Achievement Award
Krishnendu Chakrabarty
For contributions to the design of microfluidic biochips, testing and design-for-test of system-on-chip and 3D integrated circuits, and infrastructure optimization of wireless sensor networks, and as well as for technical leadership, industry impact, and worldwide researchers inspiration.

John Choma Education Award
Behzad Razavi
For his seminal books and his global impact on circuits education. 

Vitold Belevitch Circuits and Systems Award
Irwin Sandberg
For fundamental contributions to the understanding and analysis of nonlinear circuits and systems.

Guillemin-Cauer Best Paper Award
W. Zhao, M. Moreau, E. Deng, Y. Zhang, J.M. Portal, J.O. Klein, and M. Bocquet
"Synchronous Non-Volatile Logic Gate Design Based on Resistive Switching Memories", IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems I: Regular Papers, vol. 61, no. 2, pp. 443-454, February 2014

Darlington Best Paper Award
B. Zhao, N.C. Kuo, and A. M. Nikne
"An Inductive-Coupling Blocker Rejection Technique for Miniature RFID Tag", IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems I: Regular Papers, vol. 63, no. 8, pp. 1305-1315, August 2016

Circuits and Systems for Video Technology Best Paper Award
T. K. Tan, R. Weerakkody, M. Mrak, N. Ramzan, V. Baroncini, J.R. Ohm, and G. J. Sullivan
"Video Quality Evaluation Methodology and Verification Testing of HEVC Compression Performance", IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems for Video Technology, vol. 26, no. 1, pp. 76-90, September 2015

Very Large Scale Integration Systems Best Paper Award
Y. Lao and K. K. Parhi
"Obfuscating DSP Circuits via High-Level Transformations", IEEE Transactions on Very Large Scale Integration (VLSI) Systems, vol. 23, no. 5, pp. 819-830, May 2015

Biomedical Circuits and Systems Best Paper Award
R. Shulyzki, K. Abdelhalim, A. Bagheri, M. T. Salam, C. M. Florez, J. L. Perez Velazquez, P. L. Carlen, and R. Genov
"320-Channel Active Probe for High-Resolution Neuromonitoring and Responsive Neurostimulation", IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Circuits and Systems, vol. 9, no. 1, pp. 34-49, February 2015

Outstanding Young Author Award
Y. Lu, Y. Wang, Q. Pan, W.H. Ki, and C. P. Yue
"A Fully-Integrated Low-Dropout Regulator With Full-Spectrum Power Supply Rejection", IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems I: Regular Papers, vol. 62, no. 3, pp. 707-716, March 2015

Pre-Doctoral Scholarships
Divya Pathak
Xinfei Guo

Chapter of the Year Award
Chapter Chair, Nurul Amziah Md Yunus

Region 1-7 Chapter of the Year
Chapter Chair, Joseph Cavallaro

Region 9 Chapter of the Year
Rio Grande do Sul
Chapter Chair, Ricardo Reis

Region 10 Chapter of the Year 
Chapter Chair, Myung Hoon Sunwoo

The following awards were not given in 2017:
Industrial Pioneer Award
Meritorious Service Award
Region 8 Chapter of the Year