IEEE CAS is pleased to congratulate the following recipients of the 2018 IEEE Circuits and Systems Society Awards. The Society is especially proud and happy to honor their outstanding accomplishments and we look forward their continuous involvement and close contact with CAS.

See award winners and fellows from previous years 

Mac Van Valkenburg Award
Eby G. Friedman
For technical leadership in high performance integrated circuit design

Charles A. Desoer Technical Achievement Award
Srinivas Devadas
For the development of Physical Unclonable Functions and enabling the deployment of secure circuits, processors and systems

John Choma Education Award
David J. Allstot
For sustained contributions with global impact on integrated circuits and systems education 

Meritorious Service Award
Thanos Stouraitis
For devoting long-term outstanding service to the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society, as Chair of several CASS flagship Conferences, as Vice President for Conferences, and as CASS President

Industrial Pioneer Award
Reza Rofougaran
For pioneering research in RF-CMOS followed by a leading role in the industrialization of single-chip CMOS radios-on-a-chip that enable the smartphone

Darlington Best Paper Award
Jia Zhou, Tong Ge, Joseph S. Chang
Printed Electronics: Effects of Bending and a Self-Compensation Means” IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems I: Regular Papers (Volume 64, Issue 3, March 2017) Pages 505 - 515

Very Large Scale Integration Systems Best Paper Award
Ryan Gary Kim, Wonje Choi, Zhuo Chen, Partha Pratim Pande, Diana Marculescu, and Radu Marculescu
"Wireless NoC and Dynamic VFI Co-Design: Energy Efficiency without Performance PenaltyIEEE Transactions on Very Large Scale Integration (VLSI) Systems (Volume 24, Issue 7, July 2016)

Pages 2488 – 2501

Biomedical Circuits and Systems Best Paper Award
Adrien F. Vincent, Jérôme Larroque, Nicolas Locatelli, Nesrine Ben Romdhanem, Olivier Bichler, Christian Gamrat, Wei Sheng Zhao, Jacques-Olivier Klein, Sylvie Galdin-Retailleau, Damien Querlioz
"Spin-transfer torque magnetic memory as a stochastic memristive synapse for neuromorphic systems’', IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Circuits and Systems (Volume 9, Issue 2, Apr. 2015) Pages 166-174

Outstanding Young Author Award
Woorham Bae, et al.
"A 0.36 pJ/bit, 0.025 mm2, 12.5 Gb/s Forwarded-Clock Receiver With a Stuck-Free Delay-Locked Loop and a Half-Bit Delay Line in 65-nm CMOS Technology" IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems I: Regular Papers (Volume 63, Issue 9, Sept. 2016) Pages 1393-1403

Pre-Doctoral Scholarships
Gain Kim

Chapter of the Year Award
Rio Grande do Sul Chapter
Chapter Chair, Jose Rodrigo Azambuja

Region 9 Chapter of the Year
Peru Chapter
Chapter Chair, Carlos Silva Cardenas

The following awards were not given in 2018:
Vitold Belevitch Circuits and Systems Award (given biannually)
Guillemin-Cauer Best Paper Award
Circuits and Systems for Video Technology Best Paper Award
Region 1-7 Chapter of the Year
Region 8 Chapter of the Year
Region 10 Chapter of the Year