IEEE CAS Society is pleased to congratulate the following recipients of the 2020 IEEE Circuits and Systems Society Awards. The Society is especially proud and happy to honor their outstanding accomplishments and we look forward to their continued involvement and close contact with CAS.

See award winners and fellows from previous years 

Mac Van Valkenburg Award
Joos Vandewalle
for fundamental contributions to circuits and systems using mathematical methods with applications in data & signal processing, security, and design

Charles A. Desoer Technical Achievement Award
Georges Gielen
for contributions to the systematic design and the design and test automation of analog and mixed-signal integrated circuits

Industrial Pioneer Award
Shaojun Wei
For pioneering the implementation and manufacturing of smart chip and Integrated IDs in modern computing and communication systems

Darlington Best Paper Award
Francesco Conti, Robert Schilling, Pasquale Davide Schiavone, Antoni Pullini. Davide Rossi, Frank K. Gürkaynak, Michael Muehlberghuber, Michael Gautschi, Igor Loi, Germain Haugou, Stefan Mangard, Luca Benini
"An IoT Endpoint System-on-Chip for Secure and Energy-Efficient Near-Sensor Analytics" IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems I: Regular Papers (Volume 64, Issue 9, Sept. 2017)

Guillemin-Cauer Best Paper Award
Yanling Wei, Jianbin Qiu, Hamid Reza Karimi
"Reliable Output Feedback Control of Discrete-Time Fuzzy Affine Systems With Actuator Faults" IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems I: Regular Papers (Volume 64, Issue 1, Jan. 2017)

Circuits and Systems for Video Technology Best Paper Award
Rufael Mekuria, Kees Blom, Pablo Cesar
Design, Implementation, and Evaluation of a Point Cloud Codec for Tele-Immersive Video”  IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems for Video Technology (Volume 27, Issue 4, April 2017)

Very Large Scale Integration Systems Best Paper Award
Michael Gautschi, Pasquale Davide Schiavone, Andreas Traber, Igor Loi, Antonio Pullini, Davide Rossi, Eric Flammand, Frank K. Gürkaynak, Luca Benini
"Near-Threshold RISC-V Core With DSP Extensions for Scalable IoT Endpoint Devices" IEEE Transactions on Very Large Scale Integration (VLSI) Systems (Volume 25, Issue 10, Oct. 2017)

Biomedical Circuits and Systems Best Paper Award
Jayant Charthad, Ting Chia Chang, Zhaokai Liu, Ahmed Sawaby, Marcus J. Weber, Sam Baker, Felicity Gore, Stephen A. Felt, Amin Arbabian
"A mm-Sized Wireless Implantable Device for Electrical Stimulation of Peripheral Nerves’', IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Circuits and Systems (Volume 12, Issue 2, April 2018)

Outstanding Young Author Award
Kai Kang, et al
"T-CNN: Tubelets With Convolutional Neural Networks for Object Detection From Videos" IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems for Video Technology ( Volume 28, Issue 10, Dec. 2018 )

Pre-Doctoral Grant
Corey Lammie
Yifei Shen

Chapter of the Year Award
Japan Joint Chapter
Chapter Chair, Atsushi Takahashi

Regions 1-7 Chapter of the Year Award
North Jersey Chapter
Chapter Chair, Durga Misra

Region 9 Chapter of the Year
Rio Grande do Sul
Chapter Chair, Jose Azambuja

Region 10 Chapter of the Year
Taipei Chapter
Chapter Chair, Hsie-Chia Chang

The following awards were not given in 2020:
John Choma Education Award
Meritorious Service Award

Region 8 Chapter of the Year