Wen-Hsiao Peng

Wen-Hsiao Peng

National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University
IEEE Region
Region 10 (Asia and Pacific)

Contact Menu

Dr. Wen-Hsiao Peng (M'09-SM’13) received the B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees from National Chiao Tung University (NCTU), Hsinchu, Taiwan, in 1997, 1999, and 2005, respectively, all in electronics engineering.

He was with the Intel Microprocessor Research Laboratory, Santa Clara, CA, USA, from 2000 to 2001, where he was involved in the development of International Organization for Standardization (ISO) Moving Picture Experts Group (MPEG)-4 fine granularity scalability and demonstrated its application in 3-D peer-to-peer video conferencing. Since 2003, he has actively participated in the ISO/IEC MPEG digital video coding standardization process and contributed to the development of the High Efficiency Video Coding (HEVC) standard and MPEG-4 Part 10 Advanced Video Coding Amd.3 Scalable Video Coding standard. His research group at NCTU is one of the few university teams around the world that participated in the Call-for-Proposals on HEVC and its Screen Content Coding extensions. He is currently a Professor with the Computer Science Department, National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University (NYCU). He was a Visiting Scholar with the IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, NY, USA, from 2015 to 2016. He has authored over 90 technical papers in the field of video/image processing and communications and over 60 standards contributions. His research interests include learning-based video/image coding, multimedia analytics, and computer vision.

Dr. Peng is a Technical Committee Member of the Visual Signal Processing and Communications and Multimedia Systems and Application tracks of the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society (CASS). He was Technical Program Co-chair for 2024 PCS, 2023 APSIPA ASC, 2021 IEEE VCIP, 2011 IEEE VCIP, 2017 IEEE ISPACS, and 2018 APSIPA ASC; Publication Chair for 2019 IEEE ICIP; Area Chair/Session Chair/Tutorial Speaker for IEEE ICME and VCIP; and Track Chair/Session Chair/Review Committee Member for IEEE ISCAS. He served as AEiC for Digital Communications/Lead Guest Editor/Guest Editor/SEB Member for IEEE JETCAS, Associate Editor/Special Session Organizer for IEEE TCSVT, and Guest Editor for IEEE TCAS-II. He was Distinguished Lecturer of the IEEE CASS and APSIPA. He was Past Chair of the IEEE CASS VSPC Technical Committee.

IEEE CASS Position History:
  • 2024-Present   Editor-in-Chief (IEEE Journal on Emerging and Selected Topics in Circuits and Systems (JETCAS) Editorial Board)
  • 2021-Present   Member (Digital Communications Committee)
  • 2022-2023   SASD Voting Members (Standards Activity Subdivisions Committee (SASD))
  • 2020-2022   VSPC TC Chair (Visual Signal Processing and Communications Technical Committee (VSPC TC))
  • 2019-2022   Associate Editor (IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems for Video Technology (TCSVT) Editorial Board)
  • 2021-2021   Member (Technical Activities Division)
  • 2022-   Senior Editor (IEEE Journal on Emerging and Selected Topics in Circuits and Systems (JETCAS) Editorial Board)
  • Recognitions:
  • 2022-2023 Distinguished Lecturer
  • Outdated or incorrect information? Please click here to update us with the correct information.